FAQ  •  Search  •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   Register 

 TidyHosts Forum Index » VPS Servers » Reverse DNS, IPv6
  The time now is Mon Dec 11, 2017 2:00 am 

 Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Post Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reverse DNS, IPv6 Reply with quote

Rallicat



Joined: 11 Feb 2011
Posts: 5

Hi there!

Quick couple of questions.
Firstly, is it possible to setup reverse DNS on my static IP? Is this something that can be configured via some kind of online management somewhere, or do I raise a ticket?

Secondly - pleasantly surprised to find my VPS being allocated an IPv6 address, this is excellent! Is this address in any way 'static' - and again, is it possible to have reverse DNS setup for that too?

(P.S. - been extremely pleased so far!).
--
Mark

TOP View user's profileSend private message  BOTTOM
Post Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jstevens



Joined: 14 Feb 2011
Posts: 6

Hi Mark,

firstly, yes you can have a rev DNS entry, simply raise a support ticket with your request.

Secondly, the data center isn't IP6 enabled at the moment so although it is installed, it is actually unusable at the moment. We dont have any time scales as to when they will be.

thanks

James

TOP View user's profileSend private message  BOTTOM
Post Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rallicat



Joined: 11 Feb 2011
Posts: 5

jstevens wrote:
Hi Mark,

firstly, yes you can have a rev DNS entry, simply raise a support ticket with your request.

Secondly, the data center isn't IP6 enabled at the moment so although it is installed, it is actually unusable at the moment. We dont have any time scales as to when they will be.

thanks

James


Are you sure? I can access IPv6 sites just fine!

TOP View user's profileSend private message  BOTTOM
Post Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jstevens



Joined: 14 Feb 2011
Posts: 6

Hi Mark,

yes, the DC is IPv6 capable but they currently do not route traffic. Your most likely accessing IPv6 sites as the IPv6 will be encapsulated in IPv4.

thanks

Jams

TOP View user's profileSend private message  BOTTOM
Post Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rallicat



Joined: 11 Feb 2011
Posts: 5

jstevens wrote:
Hi Mark,

yes, the DC is IPv6 capable but they currently do not route traffic. Your most likely accessing IPv6 sites as the IPv6 will be encapsulated in IPv4.

thanks

Jams


Yes - clearly the IPv6 access is occurring via a tunnel of some kind.
Is it possible to configure reverse DNS with the tunneling provider? Or is that all very much experimental at this time?

I can probably just configure a tunneling provider of my own, but wanted to check first!

--
Mark

TOP View user's profileSend private message  BOTTOM
Post Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jstevens



Joined: 14 Feb 2011
Posts: 6

Hi,

do you mean IPv6 rev DNS?

thanks

James

TOP View user's profileSend private message  BOTTOM
Post Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rallicat



Joined: 11 Feb 2011
Posts: 5

jstevens wrote:
Hi,

do you mean IPv6 rev DNS?

thanks

James


Yes! Smile

--
Mark

TOP View user's profileSend private message  BOTTOM
Post Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jstevens



Joined: 14 Feb 2011
Posts: 6

Hi Mark,

there is no rev DNS for IPv6 as its not actually routed in that way.

The Data center have confirmed that they will be going down that road but there is no times scales at the moment.

Until there is routed IPv6 we can't do any rev DNS other than IPv4.

hope that answers your question.

thanks

James

TOP View user's profileSend private message  BOTTOM
Post Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tunaleya



Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 1

Windows cannot communicate with the device or resource (DNS primary server) how to fix this? a windows message also appears: your computer is correctly configured but cannot communicate with the device or resource (DNS server). what should i do?
__________________________________
affiliateelite ~ affiliateelite.com ~ adgooroo ~ adgooroo.com


Last edited by tunaleya on Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:17 am; edited 1 time in total

TOP View user's profileSend private message  BOTTOM
Post Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

itobin



Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 82

have you got the correct DNS server settings?

87.117.198.200
87.117.196.200

TOP View user's profileSend private message  BOTTOM
 Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT

Display posts from previous:   
 TidyHosts Forum Index » VPS Servers » Reverse DNS, IPv6
 Page 1 of 1
 
 
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Jump to:  


     Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2006 phpBB Group | TidyHosts UK